AFIM

About Us

The American Friends of the Israel Museum (AFIM) was incorporated in New York State in 1968.  Its Articles of Incorporations state that the purpose of the organization is  “to foster and encourage the development of liberal arts by obtaining works of art and archaeology for the Israel Museum, Jerusalem, Israel, and by obtaining grants, contributions and loans for, and by making grants, contributions and loans to, the Israel Museum, Jerusalem, Israel.”  AFIM obtained independent Federal tax exempt status in 1972 (Federal Tax I.D. No. 23-7182582).  Since then, AFIM has transferred over $300 million to the Museum for:

  • Construction of buildings
  • Exhibitions
  • Art Acquisitions
  • Educational and outreach programs
  • Prizes and awards
  • Training of curatorial staff and the operating budget
  • Equipment and materials

AFIM holds annual social events in New York, Los Angeles and Palm Beach, raising the awareness of collectors nationwide to the existence of a viable home in Jerusalem for their precious works of art. Our annual Gala dinner has become one of the social events of the New York season. With each Gala and its accompanying Journal, AFIM has showcased a different Museum department and educated its guests as to the scope and quality of the Museum's collections. AFIM's annual events in Palm Beach and Los Angeles have also grown to be sell-out events.

AFIM has led the way for other support groups to grow and adapt its fundraising methods in 14 other countries. As a result, in any given year, there are now gala dinners, luncheons, auctions, concerts, exhibition openings and art weekends around the world. AFIM has brought groups to visit other Friends organizations throughout the world, resulting in an enthusiastic and dedicated international network of people committed to the support of the Israel Museum in Jerusalem. With offices in both New York and Los Angeles, AFIM has an active and devoted Board of Directors (click to see list).   Leah Sugarman Siegel is Executive Director, Kelly Calanni is Director of Development and Collections, Monique Birenbaum is CFO, and Janna Fisher is West Coast Events and Membership Manager.

 

Executive Director:

Leah Siegel: Leah@afimnyc.org

 

Development:

Kelly Calanni, Director of Development and Collections: Kelly@afimnyc.org

Janna Fisher, West Coast Director: Janna@afimwest.org

Brittany Albert, Donor Relations Coordinator: Brittany@afimnyc.org

Natalie Hernandez, Development Assistant: Natalie@afimnyc.org

 

Finance:

Monique Birenbaum, CFO: Monique@afimnyc.org

Arlene Bodner, Accountant: Arlene@afimnyc.org

 

Administration:

Ginette Jean-Baptiste, Database Administrator Ginette@afimnyc.org

Perry Silverman, Administrative Assistant: Perry@afimnyc.org

Courtney Crook, West Coast Administrative Assistant: Courtney@afimwest.org

New York General Email: info@afimnyc.org

New York Events email: events@afimmnyc.org

West Coast General Email:  imj@afimwest.org

 

CONTACT INFORMATION -

New York Office:

500 Fifth Avenue, Suite 2540

New York, NY 10110-2599

Tel 212.997.5611

Fax 212.997.5536

West Coast Office

315 South Beverly Drive, Suite 214

Beverly Hills, CA 90212-4312

Tel 310.557.1061

Fax 310.557.1062



Spring Luncheon 2009 - 
IMJ Director James Snyder, David Salle, Allison Rubler, Laurie Simmons, Eleanor Cayre, Pam Sanders, Robert Longo and AFIM President Stephen Lash
Spring Luncheon 2009 - IMJ Director James Snyder, David Salle, Allison Rubler, Laurie Simmons, Eleanor Cayre, Pam Sanders, Robert Longo and AFIM President Stephen Lash  
Send to a friend    Print   Back to top